2018 VGMA predictions: Who wins what tonight?


The biggest awards ceremony for musicians will be held finally on Saturday and deserving winners will be smiling, while others will be disappointed but need to gather courage and still hope for the best in future

By: Evans Gyamera-Antwi

It’s another successful year in the music industry and as usual, some hardworking musicians and other related people, will have their works finally rewarded for the efforts put in.

Without mincing words, the Ghana Music Awards is the biggest award scheme in the country amid the controversies surrounding it every time and this year’s program will be the 19th edition. The awards night is expected to be held today (April 14) at the Accra International Conference Center (AICC).

Interestingly, this will be the first time since 2014, that Shatta Wale will be making an appearance in the list of nominees following his banter with Charterhouse who happens to be the organisers of the program. In his comeback, he had six nominations and the biggest amongst them is the Artiste(s) of the Year.

However, there are other high-profile names in that category including the 90’s bad girl Ebony Reigns of blessed memories, Stonebwoy, Sarkodie and reigning champion Joe Mettle and winning won’t be that easy for the Ayoo hitmaker.

There were other musicians who had massive breakthroughs including King Promise, KiDi, Kuame Eugene, etc and many ‘underground’ artists would relish to one day obtain a portion of their luck amid their hard work.

Here, Editor-in-chief of AshesGyamera.com, presents his predictions after painstakingly going through the list and how each musician fared in the period under scrutiny, and believes the highlighted names below will be crowned winners.

Gospel of the Year

Boot for Boot – Joyce Blessing

Obi Nyanime – Patience Nyarko

Bo Noo Ni – Joe Mettle (Winner)

Efatawo – Nacee

Adom – Gifty Osei

Jehovah – Ceccy Twum

Highlife Song of the Year

Dream – Kumi Guitar

Bronya – Wutah

Odo – KiDi

Angela – Kuami Eugene

Ladder – Lil Win

Over – R2bees

Hustle – Ebony (Winner)

Hiplife Song of the Year

Total Cheat – Fancy Gadam Ft. Sarkodie

Boys Boys – Nancee Ft. Guru

Pain Killer – Sarkodie Ft. Runtown

Obi Agyi Obi Girl – Captain Planet

Ayoo – Shatta Wale (Winner)

One Corner – Patapaa Ft. Ras Cann

Hiphop  Song of the Year

State of the Art – Teephlow

Light it up – Sarkodie

Grind Day Remix – Kwesi Arthur (Winner)

Pen and Paper – Ko-jo Cue & Shaker

Dear God – B4bonah

Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year

Until the Dawn – Efya

My Own – Samini

My Name – Stonebwoy (Winner)

Faya Burn Dem – Article Wan

Rewind – MzVee

Dem Confuse – Shatta Wale

Afro-pop Song of the Year

Makoma – Adina feat. Sarkodie

Oh Yeah – King Promise

Say You Love Me – Kidi

Sing My Name – Mzvee

Jennifer Lomotey – Kurl Songx

Sponsor – Ebony

My Baby – Magnon

Come From Afar – Stonebwoy (Winner)

Gospel Artiste of the Year

Patience Nyarko (Winner)

Joyce Blessing

Joe Mettle

Celestine Donkor

Gifty Osei


Highlife Artiste(s) of the Year



Kuami Eugene (Winner)


Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year



Shatta Wale

Stonebwoy (Winner)

Songwriter of the Year

Kumi Guitar – Dream

Joe Mettle- Bo Noo Ni

Bullet – Maame Hwe (Winner)

Kofi Kinaata – Last Show

Samini – My own

Stonebwoy – My Name

Record of the Year

Kumi Guitar – Dream

Samini – My Own (Winner)

Sarkodie – Glory

Teephlow – State of the Art

Best Music Video of the Year

Kumi Guitar- Dream (Directed by Abass)

King Promise – Selfish (Directed by Vertex)

B4bonah – My Girl (Directed by Nicol-Sey)

Opanka – Wedding Car (Directed by Bra Shizzle)

Captain Planet – Obi Agyi Obi (Directed by Phamous Films)

Lil Shaker & Ko-Jo Cue – Pen & Paper (Directed by Ekumodzi) (Winner)

Hiplife/Hip-Hop Artiste of the Year

Yaa Pono


Captain Planet

Kwesi Arthur

Sarkodie (Winner)


Best Male Vocalist of the Year

Joe Mettle – Bo Noo Ni

King Promise – Selfish

KiDi – Odo

Kuami Eugene – Angela (Winner)

Mugeez – Over

Samini – My own

Best Female Vocalist of the Year

Adina – Makoma (Winner)

Nana Yaa – Don’t leave alone

Efya – Love

MzVee – Bright light

Becca – Summye (Pillow)

Best Group of the Year



Wutah (Winner)

Best Rapper of the Year

Eno Barony – Fear No Man

Teephlow – Phlowducation

Sarkodie – Light it up

Lil Shaker – Pen & Paper

Ko-Jo Cue – Pen & Paper

Strongman – Transformer (Winner)

Best collaboration of the Year

Joe Mettle Ft. Luigi Maclean – Bo noo ni

MzVee Ft. Patoranking – Sing My Name remix

Kurl Songx Ft. Sarkodie – Jennifer Lomotey

Sarkodie Ft. Runtown – Pain Killer

Shatta Wale Ft. SM Militants – Taking Over (Winner)

Captain Planet Ft. Kofi Kinaata – Obi Agyi Obi Girl

Becca Ft. Patoranking – Na Wash

Best African artiste of the Year

Davido (Winner)



Cassper Nyovest

Nasty C

Tiwa Savage


Best New Artiste of the Year

King Promise

Kurl Songx


Kuami Eugene (Winner)


Kwesi Arthur


Song of the Year

Sponsor – Ebony

Odo – Kidi

Angela – Kuami Eugene

Taking Over – Shatta Wale Ft. SM Militants (Winner)

Total Cheat – Fancy Gadam Ft. Sarkodie

One Corner – Patapaa Ft. Rad Cann

Bo Noo Nii – Joe Mettle Ft. Luigi Maclean

Obi Agyi Obi Girl – Captain Planet Ft. Kofi Kinaata.

My Baby – Magnom ft Joey B

Oh Yeah – King Promise

Pain Killer – Sarkodie feat. Runtown

Album of the Year

Epistles of Mama – Stonebwoy

Daavi – MzVee

Bonyfied – Ebony (Winner)

Highest – Sarkodie

Artiste of the Year

Joe Mettle

Ebony Reigns

Shatta Wale (WINNER)




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here