VGMA: Kofi Kinaata and others win awards on Day 1


The first phase of Ghana Music Awards 2021 took place on Friday in Accra and the final episode os slated for Saturday.

Unsurprisingly, evergreen highlife musician Kofi Kinaata was adjudged Best Song Writer of the Year under review. This means that the Takoradi-based musician has won the award on four occasions which makes him the only artist to achieve that feat.

Others who were also awarded on the night included the duo Keche as they were adjudged Best Group of the Year while Abianna was named the female vocalist of the year.


Record of the Year
Be Your Own Beautiful – Adomaa
Daddy’s Little Girl – Adina ————–Winner
Fancy – Amaarae
Die 4 U – Cina Soul
Too Much – Epixode
Diplomatic Teef – Trigmatic
Comot – Worlasi
Mmusuo – YaaYaa

Sound Engineer of the year (The award goes to one who produced the song which won the Record of the Year)
Richie Mensah – WINNER

Instrumentalist of the Year
Joshua Moszi
Nana Yaw Sarfo ————-Winner
Prince Sennah
Emmanuel Bludo
Enoch Owuraku Kissi

Traditional Artiste of the Year
Manhyia Tete Nwomkro ——-Winner

Songwriter Of The Year
Diana Hamilton – Adom
Kofi Kinaata – Behind the Scenes ————Winner
Adina – Hyedin
Joe Mettle – Yesu Mo
Abiana – Adun Lei
Epixode – Too Much
Music for Good
Yaayaa ———-Winner

Male Vocalist of the Year
KiDi – One Man
Joe Mettle – Yesu Mo
Akwaboah – Posti Me
MOGmusic – Oguamma ———Winner
Kyei Mensah – Take It All
Kingsley Amporful – God

Female Vocalist Of The Year
Abiana – Adun Lei ———–Winner
Adina – Hear Me
Cina Soul – Die 4 U
YaaYaa – Mmusuo
Efe Grace – Lord Have Your Way
Enuonyam – Fill Me
Best Group of the Year
Bethel Revival Choir
Dead Peepol
Keche —————Winner

Producer of the Year
Chris Rich Beats
Yung Demz
Street Beatz
Richie Mensah ———-Winner
MOG Beatz
Willis Beatz

Best African Artiste Of The Year
Burna Boy
Master KG ————Winner
Fireboy DML
Omah Lay

Best Video of the Year
Why – Adina
Fancy – Amaarae
Adom – Diana Hamilton
Cold – Joey B
Open Gate – Kuami Eugene
On the Street – Kweku Smoke
Let Me Know – Mr Drew
Baddest Boss – MzVee ————–Winner
Kpa – Okyeame Kwame
Thomas Pompoyeyaw Rmx – Pappy Kojo

Lifetime Achievement Award
Bob Pinodo ————-Winner


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here