George Afriyie concedes defeat as Okraku emerges new Ghana FA president until 2023



The 56-year-old has been voted president of the football association after securing 50 per cent votes in second round of polls and has vowed to work harder to restore the image of the football

Dreams FC Kurt Okraku has won Ghana Football Association’s election become a new president, succeeding the suspended Kwesi Nyantakyi on Friday in Accra.

Following the race to elect new chairmen for the ten various regional Football Associations, representatives for the new executive Council from Premier League, Division One League and Women’s League were also selected through votes on Thursday.

After an end-to-end contest in where Okraku led in two rounds, former Ghana FA vice president George Afriyie conceded defeat after securing 43 votes out of the 119 total votes casted, lagging behind favourite Kurt who had 59 votes.

Meanwhile, Nana Yaw Amponsah finished third with 16 votes.

Okraku, who will be in office until 2023, will now work with the new Executive Council made up of Frederick Acheampong (Achee), George Amoako, Kingsley Osei Bonsu (Lord Zico), Nana Oduro Sarfo, Dr. Tony Aubyn, Randy Abbey, Mark Addo, Sammy Anim Addo, Madam Habiba Attah, Linford Asamoah.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here