Afriyie Barnieh, Kudus & co. win big at 46th SWAG Awards ahead of Kotoko’s Ganiu & Nsiah Asare


The 2021 edition of the SWAG Awards night took place in Accra and there were winners as well as losers

Hearts of Oak youngster Daniel Afriyie Barnieh was crowned the Best Player playing in Ghana at the 46th Sports Writers Association Awards night which was held at the Accra International Conference Center on Friday.

Barnieh shrugged off competitions from Asante Kotoko captain Abdul Ganiu Ismail and former Karela United striker Diawisie Taylor who scored 17 goals last season to end as the topscorer of Ghana Premier League.

2021, obviously, was a year in which Barnieh wrote his name in a gold plated style as he led Ghana’s U20 national team to win WAFU and Africa U-20 Cup of Nations. Also, he was an integral part of the Hearts of Oak squad that won treble – Ghana Premier League, FA Cup and Super Cup.

Young boxer Samuel Takyi was also adjudged the Best Amateur boxer and Personality of the Year after his heroic performance at the 2020 Olympics Games which was held in Japan. The teenager won a broze medal which became Ghana’s first ever medal in almost 40 years.

Meanwhile, despite leading Hasaacas Ladies to win five trophies in the year under review, chief executive officer of the club who also doubles as a board member of Asante Kotoko was beaten by Ghana Boxing Association’s president George Okoe Lamptey to win the Best Administrator of the Year.

Angel FM’s Saddick Adams was adjudged the Best Journalist of the year as he pipped Photojournalist Boakye Buckman and John Vigah of Ghanaian Times.

The Full Winners Of The 46th SWAG Awards:

Sports Personality of the Year – Samuel Takyi

Amateur Boxer of the Year – Samuel Takyi

Footballer of the Year (Local) – Daniel Afriyie Barnieh

Footballer of the Year (Foreign) – Kudus Mohammed

Female Footballer of the Year – Janet Egyiri

Team of the Year – Hasaacas Ladies

Discovery of the Year – Fatawu Issahaku

Professional Boxer of the Year – Alfred Lamptey

Badminton Players of the Year – Kelvin Alphous (Male), Prospera Nantuo (Female)

Chess Player of the Year – Philip Selikem Yao Amoako

Table Tennis Player of the Year – Emmanuel Commey

Tennis Player of the Year (female) – Naa Shika McCorley

Tennis player of the year (male) – Samuel Agbesi Antwi

Swimming Athlete of the Year – Unilez Takyi

Administrator of the Year – George Okoe Lamptey (Ghana Boxing Federation)

National Team Coach of the Year – Ofori Asare

Club Coach of the Year – Yussif Basigi

Athlete of the Year (Male) – Benjamin Azamati

Athlete Of The Year (Female) – Deborah Acquah

Sports Journalist of the Year – Saddick Adam


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here