2018 VGMA: Ebony crowned Artiste of the Year & other winners


Following an incredible year of music, the many artists have seen their hard work not going unnoticed while others are bitter but must gather the pieces and eye for better moments in the future

By: Evans Gyamera-Antwi

The 2018 Ghana Music Awards was successfully held on Saturday April 14 at the Accra International Conference Center and Ebony Reigns of blessed memories was adjudged as the best among the rest of musicians in the period under scrutiny.

The 20-year-old who net her untimely death in February saw her legacy living on even after her departure after she beat competition from Shatta Wale, Stonebwoy, Sarkodie and Joe Mettle.

The night saw great performances from ever-green Samini, Sarkodie, Kuame Eugene and the likes while Stonebwoy also didn’t disappoint only that his custom on stage was something that many onlookers weren’t impressed with.

However, the biggest shock of the night was when Patapaa’s One Corner and Shatta Wale’s Takin over were overlooked and Fancy Gaddam winning the most popular song of the Year with Total Cheat, something a section of Ghanaians feel it is indeed a ‘total cheat’.

Again, King Promise, Patapaa and others also were trending seriously with their outfit for the occasion.

In all, AshesGyamera.com had over 70 per cent of our predictions correct and hopes to improve the figure next year

Full Awards list:

Artiste of the Year

Joe Mettle

Ebony ( WINNER)

Shatta Wale



Hiplife song of the year

Total Cheat- Fancy Gadam ft Sarkodie (WINNER)

Boys Boys -Nacee F. Guru

Obi Agyi obi girl-Captain Planet ft Kofi Kinataa

Ayoo-Shatta Walle

One Corner – Patapaa

Hip Pop Song Of The Year

State Of The Art-Teephlow

Light It Up-Sarkodie

Grind Day Remix—Kwesi Arthur (WINNER)

Pen and Paper-Kojo-cue & Shaker

Dear God—B4Bonah

Reggae/Dancehall Song of The Year

Until The Dawn- Efya

My Own- Samini (WINNER)

My Name-Stonebwoy

Maya Burn Dem-Article Wan

Rewind- Mzvee

Dem Confuse – Shatta Wale

UNSUNG Artiste Of The Year

Kelvyn Boy (WINNER)

Dope Nation

Dhat Gyal


Real MC


Lifetime Achievement Award

Naa Amanua Dodoo

Highlife Song Of the Year

Dream—Kumi Guitar


Odo – Kidi (WINNER)

Angela-Kuami Eugene



Gospel Song Of The Year

Bo Noo Ni – Joe Mettle ft Loigi Maclean (WINNER)

Boot 4 Boot- Joyce Blessing

Obi Nyanime-Patience Nyarko

Efatawo— Nacee

Adom— Gifty Osei

Jehovah-Ceccy Twum

Afro Pop Song Of The Year

Makoma- Adina

Oh Yeah- King Promise

Say You Love Me-Kidi

Sing My Name – Mzvee

Jennifer Lomotey -Kurl Songz

Sponsor-Ebony (WINNER)

My Baby-Magnom

Come From Afar- Stonebwoy

Gospel Artiste of the Year

Joyce Blessing

Patience Nyarko

Joe Mettle (WINNER)

Celestine Donkor


Gifty Osei

HighLife Artiste of The Year



Kuami Eugene (WINNER)


Reggae Dancehall Artiste of The Year

Shatta Wale


Stonebwoy (WINNER)


Song Writer of the Year

Kumi Guitar – Dream

Joe Mettle- Bo Noo Ni-Joe Mettle

Ebony-Maame Hw3-Bullet (WINNER)

Kofi Kinaata- Last Show- Willis Beatz

Samini- My Own-Samini

Stonebwoy- My Name- Stonebwoy

Best Music Video of the Year

Dream- Kumi Guitar-Abass

Selfish- King Promise-Vertex

My Girl-B4Bonah- Nicol Sey

Wedding Car- Opanka-Bra Shizzle

Obi Agyi Obi Girl-Captain Planet-Gyo-Phamous Filmz (WINNER)

Pen & Paper-Kojo Cue & Shaker-E Kumodzi

Record Of the Year

Dream – Kumi Guitar

My Own – Samini

Glory – Sarkodie

State Of The Art – Teephlow (WINNER)

Hiplife/hiphop Artiste of the Year



Captain Planet

Kwesi Arthur

Sarkodie (WINNER)


Best Male Vocal Performance

Joe Mettle- Bo No Nii (WINNER)

King Promise- Selfish

Kidi- Odo

Kuami Eugene- Angela

Mugeez- Over

Samini- My Own

Best Female Vocal Performance

Adina-Makoma (WINNER)

Nana Yaa-Don’t Leave Me Alone

Efya- Love

Mzvee-Bright Lights

Becca- Summuy3

Best Group of the Year



Wutah (WINNER)

Best Rapper of the Year

Eno Barony- Fear No Man


Sarkodie— Light It Up (WINNER)

Shaker— Pen and Paper

Ko-jo Cue-Pen and Paper

Strongman— Transformer

Best collaboration of the Year

Bo Noo Ni— Joe Mettle Ft Luigi Maclean

Sing My Name Remix— Mzvee Ft Patoranking

Jennifer Lomotey— Kurl Songs ft Sarkodie

Pain Killer— Sarkodie ft Runtown

Taking Over— Shatta Wale Ft S.M Militants (WINNER)

Obi Agye Obi Girl— Captain Planet ft Kofi Kinata

Na Wash— Becca ft Patoranking

African Artiste of the Year

Davido (WINNER)


Too Fan

Cassper Nyovest

Nasty C

Tiwa Savage


Best New Artiste of the Year

King Promise

Kurl Songz


Kuami Eugene (WINNER)


Kwesi Arthur


Album of the Year

Epistles Of Mama- Stonebwoy

Highest- Sarkodie

Daavi- Mzvee

Bonyfied- Ebony (WINNER)

Popular Song of the Year

Joe Mettle-Bo No Nii

Shatta Wale-Ayoo

King Promise-Oh yeah

Sarkodie ft Runtown -Painkiller

Patapaa- One Corner


Kuami Eugene- Angela

Kidi- Odo

Shatta Wale ft The Militants-Taking Over

Fancy Gandam ft Sarkodie-Total Cheat (WINNER)

Magnom-My Baby

Captain Planet ft Kofi Kinaata-Obi Agi Obi Girl



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here