Highlights: Al Hilal United 1-0 Kotoko; Nettey’s own goal lands Prosper Ogum in first defeat


The Porcupine Warriors’ preparations for the new season took off on a slow start as they succumbed to a defeat against a lower division side in a friendly in far away Dubai on Thursday morning

Asante Kotoko were defeated 1-0 against Al Hilal United in their first friendly game as part of their pre-season tour in the United Arab Emirates on Thursday morning at the Al Hamriyah Sport and Cultural Club in Sharjah.

Head coach Prosper Ogum Narteh started goalkeeper Razak Abalora in pst ahead of Kwame Baah. Christopher Nettey and Patrick Asmah started the game as the right and left wing back respectively while skipper Ismail Abdul Ganiyu and Yussi Mubarik took over the duties of centre backs.

New signing Richard Boadu ‘Agadas’ who arrived from Medeama last month was started in midfield and alongside Emmanuel Keyekeh while Dickson Afoakwa and Clinton Opoku started on the wings.

Joseph Amoako led the attack and Fabio Gama played behind him as the No.10

Kotoko almost took the lead by the 10th minute when Patrick Asmah whipped in a cross but Opoku couldn’t direct his header on target.

Five minutes later, Fabio Gama combined with Dickson Afoakwa to set up Amoako but the youngster’s last ditch effort went wide.

After the break, Kotoko looked unsettled as Hilal United took the game to them. The Dubai-based club unsurprisingly took the lead through an own goal.

Defender Christopher Nettey mistakenly kicked the ball into his own net as goalkeeper Razak Abalora could not stop it despite stretching to his elastic limit.

The Porcupine Warriors left Ghana last week and are expected to return by October 22 before they play their first game of the new season against Dreams FC in Dawu.

Kotoko Starting XI vs Al Hilal United

  1. Razak Abalora
  2. Christopher Nettey
  3. Mubarik Yussif
  4. Ismail Abdul Ganiyu (C)
  5. Patrick Asmah
  6. Richard Boadu
  7. Emmanuel Keyekeh
  8. Fabio Gama
  9. Dickson Afoakwa
  10. Clinton Opoku
  11. Joseph Amoako


  1. Kwame Baah
  2. Richmond Lamptey
  3. Sherif Mohammed
  4. Andrews Kwadwo Appau
  5. Maxwell Agyemang
  6. Samuel Appiah
  7. Mudasiru Salifu

Head Coach: Dr. Prosper Nartey Ogum


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here