Kwame Poku scores brace as Kotoko ‘humiliate’ Achiken FC in pre-seaon friendly


The Porcupines brushed aside the lower-tier side as they wrap up their fine tuning ahead of the start of the 2020/21 league season

Asante Kotoko defeated Achiken FC 6-1 in a pre-season friendly at the Adako Jachie on Thursday.

Two first-half goals from Emmanuel Gyamfi and new recruit Evans Adomako made sure that Maxwell Konadu’s charges marched on to record their third win in pre-season.

Konadu paraded a strong starting line up with a 4-3-3 formation which had Black Stars goalkeeper Razak Abalora in post ahead of Felix Annan. Samuel Frimpong, Imoro Ibrahim, Abdul Ganiu Ishmael and Mubarik Yusif made up the defence while Emmanuel Keyekeh and Latif Anabila as well as Kwame Adom Frimpong formed the midfield.

In attack, Evans Adomako led the pack with support from Kwame Poku and Emmanuel Gyamfi on the left and right flanks respectively.

Gyamfi opened the scoring by 15th minute after a fast break before Adomako scored his first ever goal for Kotoko after joining from Phar Rangers.

After the break, Emmanuel Sarkodie replaced Kwame Adom while William Opoku Mensah took the place of Adomako.

Ibrahim capitalised on a mistake from Achiken defence after they committed a foul outside their goal area. The defender sent in his free-kick for the third goal of the day by 52nd minute.

By the 55th minute, Wahab Adams and Habib Mohammed came on to replace Yusif and Ganiu as the new centre backs while Godfred Asiamah took the place of Keyekeh.

Agyemang Duah pulled one back for Achiken as they improved their performance to at least draw even. However, substitute Opoku Mensah combined with a teammate to score Kotoko’s fourth goal of the day few moments after coming on to restore their three-goal lead.

Kwame Poku scored two quick goals to extended Kotoko’s lead. The striker first netted from the spot after an Achiken defender brought down a Kotoko player before connecting a pass from his teammate to calmly send his effort on target.


Razak Abalora- Samuel Frimpong,
Imoro Ibrahim, Abdul Ganiu Ishmael, Mubarik Yusif – Emmanuel Keyekeh, Latif Anabila
Kwame Adom Frimpong – Emmanuel Gyamfi, Kwame Poku, Evans Adomako


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here